The Castle


Photo c. 1897, The Castle, as built by the Union Mining Company.
In the lower left are Dr. Thompson and his family.

The Past...

In 1840, The Castle began its life as a plain, yet substantial, stone house built by the Union Mining Company. Just before the turn of the century, the house was purchased by a young entrepeneur from Scotland, Andrew Ramsay. Ramsay was the owner of the Mt. Savage Enameled Brickworks Company which was enormously successful in producing a special colored, glazed brick that was highly sought after for its smooth, bright, easily cleaned surface. Mr. Ramsay used his new found wealth to convert the stone house into a replica of Craig Castle, which he had seen near his home in Scotland. Large verandahs and terraces of glazed tile were constructed around the house. Ramsay also added an entire third floor and a kitchen-library wing which almost doubled the size of the home. A large carriage house, formal gardens, and a tennis court were added to the two acre grounds. As a finishing touch, Ramsay surrounded the entire property with a sixteen foot stone wall. Mr. Ramsay and his family lived at The Castle until the Great Depression when his fortune was lost and the house was sold off.

The Present...

The Castle endured many trying times after Ramsay's untimely departure. It was in the hands of private families for a while before it was sold off again and transformed into a dance hall, brothel, casino, and eventually into seven apartments. In 1984, the deteriorating structure was given a second chance to be the grand home of its past. After two years of grueling renovation, The Castle proudly opened its gates as a unique Bed & Breakfast. Today, innkeepers Tony and Judi Perino welcome you as guests with a four o'clock refreshment hour that is served either in the parlor or on the tiled front terrace. Your choice of fresh lemonade, iced tea or favorite wine is served with a delightful array of cookies, fresh fruit and assorted cheeses. In the crisp winter months there is always a selection of hot teas, coffee or a steaming mug of hot chocolate with whipped cream. While guests are relaxing, they may hear the haunting whistle of the Scenic Steam Train as it makes its way along the mountainside from Cumberland to Frostburg. During the chilly winter months, guests warm themselves by the fireplace in the comfort of the parlor. Perhaps making plans to dine at one of the fine eating establishments in the area or stay in and enjoy a special five course private dinner prepared by Tony.

After this leisurely break, guests may experience the varied array of nearby attractions or ascend the main staircase to the second floor guest rooms. While each has a slightly different character, all of The Castle's five bedrooms offer period antique furniture, wood floors, crisp linens, soft towels, fluffy bathrobes, and a decanter of sherry. Enjoy free WiFi.

Pen and inke-mail The Castle for information and availability,or call 301-264-4645

Coat of ArmsHome